2015 Alberta Playwriting Competition Recipients Announced

The Alberta Playwrights’ Network and Theatre Alberta are pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Alberta Playwriting Competition, the longest running provincial competition of its kind in Canada, offering the largest cash prize of any provincial playwriting competition.

Calgary playwright KEN CAMERON received the Grand Prize for his one-act play THE BLOGFATHER. The Grand Prize winner also receives $3500.00.

Edmonton Playwright LIANE FAULDER received the Discovery Prize for her play THE LONG WALK HOME. The emerging playwright will receive the $1,500 prize to help fund her future writing endeavours. 

The jury awarded Honourable Mentions in the Grand Prize Category to MEG BRAEM (Calgary) for her play A Worthy Opponent and to DARRIN HAGEN (Edmonton) for his play Go West, Young Man.  

 The jury awarded Honourable Mentions in the Discovery Prize Category to MICHELE MILLER for her play 21: The Musical  and LIAM SALMON for his play Dig

Click here to read the press release.

Since its inception in 1985, Alberta Playwrights' Network has been the grass roots home to playwrights from across the province. From the first time playwright to the established professional, APN has programs designed for the development of the individual. While we do not produce plays, we assist in the development of plays and playwrights with the ultimate goal of production. 

Programming: APN offers programming for all levels of playwright, from novice to professional. Our programs are designed for each individual writer with their personal development goals in mind.

Membership: You are just a click away from membership and access to all of the programming, services and technology APN can provide.

Services: In complement with our programming, APN offers a variety of services to assist the individual in dissemination, development and marketing of their work.

Events: A complete listing of upcoming APN events and programming.

Thank you to our funders.

Thank you to our funders.