2016 RBC Emerging Artists Mentorship Program

10 - six month mentorship opportunities

Through the generous support of the RBC Foundation, we are launching our 2016 RBC Emerging Artists Mentorship Program. This program is designed to provide individual and project development through mentorship from our roster of professional playwrights. The program is meant to support emerging and mid-career playwrights who have a dedication to refining their craft, their product and the art of playwriting. The program runs from February - July 2016.

The Program

      Applications for the program will be accepted until Monday, January 4, 2016.

For more information, click here.


 Alberta Playwrights' Network has turned 30!

Our fundraising efforts continue...

To date, well over 100 individuals have donated to our cause putting us well on the way to our target. 

$30,000, 30 dollars at a time, to celebrate 30 years of helping Alberta writers get Alberta stories onto stages here in Alberta and around the world. 

APN is a small organization. $30,000 is about a quarter of our current annual budget. For our members, the workshop process is one of our key services, at a cost of about $750 a day for a director and cast of 4 professional actors, plus space, photocopying, admin, etc. this $30000 could allow our membership to access upwards of 40 workshop days, to allow their works to grow. And to enable more writers to develop their craft as Alberta story-tellers.

So please click the "30 for 30" button below to contribute 1 of 1000 $30 donations to help us reach our goal.

30 FOR 30


Donations to Date: 135 donations totalling $4070.00

Special Thank You To Our Donors So Far...

Thanks for being a part of this year's Commission!

On November 28th APN hosted a Birthday Bash as part of the celebrations. It included a brand new game developed by APN called Commission. Commission pit four Alberta playwrights (David Van Belle, Eugene Stickland, Meg Braem, and Meredith Taylor-Parry) against each other in a high-stakes elimination conflict, where only one play reached it’s potential. Playwrights were each given a list of words – actions, objects, locations, occupations, emotions, etc – then they had 30 minutes to incorporate them into a play.  Professional actors (Elinor Holt, Roberta Mauer Phillips and Aaron Conrad) read the works aloud to be critiqued by Sharon Pollock. Each round – (Exposition, Complication, and Denouement), one play is Shredded until the last writer is awarded the precious Contract for Production. 
This year's winning playwright was David Van Belle. 

Thank you to everyone who came out to this event, we hope to see you all at next years Commission event!


$30,000, $30 at a time, to celebrate 30 years of APN.